Conference

Date
18-20th of October 2018
Location
85 Minerilor Street
FSPAC
Buildings 1 and 2

PHOTOS

Nowadays, the humanities and social sciences seem to be disrupted, both epistemologically and methodologically, by the digital tools that make it possible to analyze heterogeneous and voluminous data. For their part, the Digital Humanities, and more broadly the Digital Studies, represent a developing field of research and teaching, studies and practices, the purpose of which is to understand the implications and digital opportunities as media, the object of study, develops a new ecosystem.

As they are concerned, the information and communication sciences (ICS) shed light on the societal and scientific challenges of the digital world due to their interdisciplinary pluralism (semiological, informational, sociological, etc.) which is situated on several levels (theoretical, methodological, and empirical) and covers several areas: for example, the transformation of knowledge circulation processes, the media coverage of workplace communication, information systems, and the issues of document digitization (CPDirSIC / SFSIC Symposium, From the Digital Humanities to Digital Studies, Paris, March 16, 2018).

Owing to their critical reflection on the genesis of the digital world, ICSs show that, despite the impact of digital technology on the process of data production and interpretation, the recurring questions posed by the human and social sciences remain central in order to grasp the complexity of communication and go beyond a strictly computational approach. Articulating humanities and digital as an object of study (approaches, fields, actors, field of research) refers to logic itself allowing a critical work positioning the ICSs as sciences of interpretation.However, do they have sufficient hindsight to analyze the forms of information socialization disrupted by digital technology, which affect not only man’s well-being, but also his professional skills and his relationship to society, to institutions and heritage?The contributions to this conference fall under the following eight themes, which will lead to several parallel workshops.

How do actors’ representations and sociotechnical devices contribute to the mediation and popularization of knowledge? How does the appropriation and sharing of knowledge (institutions, organizations, users …) evolve under the impulse of digital innovation (connected objects, teacher blogs, online teaching sites, tutorials, etc.)? In what way, through the dissemination of scientific knowledge by network actors (B. Latour), do the public claim their competence to evaluate the scientificity of one positioning or another?

Semantic devices make it possible to construct relationships of meaning between concepts and content that are at first sight remote, and that aim to provide the user with relevant, fast, and synthetic information. Therefore, the design gains to rely on specific methodologies that require to problematize the amodal aspect of the digital and integrate the theoretical and methodological contribution of the organization of knowledge. The expected contributions will target theoretical and methodological issues, resulting from reflections and field studies.

Do the scriptures for the Web and on the Web fall under an adaptation of the traditional categories of analysis-production or do they require new descriptors in the domain of genres (specific or not), multimodal textualities (associating written, image, sound) as well as the articulation between written culture and visual culture? How does one take into account the relationship between literacy and interculturality in writing practices and the uses of online writing?

The training of students and their professional integration are also affected by digital transformation. It is therefore necessary to question the skills expected by the socio-economic environment (digital literacies, soft skills, etc.) and to think collectively with a view to proposing formal pedagogical activities (contents, courses) and informal (creative internships, project-based workshops, fablab …) designed to train future professionals and researchers in information and communication.

This axis aims to problematize digital cultures through the transformation of media and digital information and communication devices. The contributions will focus on issues related to digital communication practices in several fields: economic, societal, political, cultural. The diversification of the devices also requires research focused on the dynamics of digital socio-cultural practices (solidarity, mobilization, collaborative projects, etc.). What representations of social life and what modes of action are configured by appropriate sociotechnical devices by actors acting in different connectivity environments?

Producing an archive of this type is not limited to a simple operation of saving information, creating a web page and or developing a query interface. It is also a question of ensuring the conservation of the source documents, the adequacy to the informational needs of the user (due to a precise methodology of design based on ontologies of domains, tools of indexing, and annotation data semantics) and the creation of relevant query interfaces and methods. How do ICS research position themselves against these methodological requirements?

On the one hand, ICS research can rely on existing tools from other related disciplines (linguistics, sociology, psychology …). On the other hand, given their epistemological specificities, ICS can also develop new, more appropriate instruments for collecting, observing and visualizing data. These tools can thus help to support ICS researchers in their own interpretative approach, offering them an alternative to the quantitative approach of Big Data. What relationships can be established between data processing and representation (data visualization) and meaningful construction practices? Emphasis will be placed on new collaborative research practices produced by the joint work of professionals and amateurs/readers.

In a reflexive view, the expected contributions will shed light on these questions: what is the assessment of these computational methods in terms of data production, collection of traces, and qualitative and quantitative interpretation of the results? Which methodological approaches from the digital humanities and digital studies are most relevant for the information and communication sciences?

Conference

Date
18-20th of October 2018
Location
85 Minerilor Street
FSPAC
Buildings 1 and 2

PHOTOS

Les sciences humaines et sociales semblent aujourd’hui bouleversées, tant au plan épistémologique que méthodologique, par les outils numériques qui permettent d’analyser des données à la fois hétérogènes et volumineuses. De leur côté, les Humanités numériques, et plus largement les recherches sur l’environnement numérique (Digital Studies), représentent un champ mouvant de recherche et d’enseignement, d’études et de pratiques, dont l’objectif est de comprendre les implications et les opportunités du numérique comme média, objet d’étude, voire nouvel écosystème.

Pour leur part, les sciences de l’information et de la communication (SIC) éclairent les enjeux sociétaux et scientifiques du numérique grâce à leur pluralisme interdisciplinaire (sémiologique, informationnel, sociologique, etc.) qui se situe à plusieurs niveaux (théorique, méthodologique et empirique) et recouvre plusieurs domaines : par exemple, la transformation des processus de circulation des savoirs, la médiatisation de la communication au travail, les systèmes d’information et les enjeux de la numérisation documentaire (Symposium CPDirSIC/SFSIC, Des humanités numériques aux Digital Studies, Paris, 16 mars 2018).

Grâce à leur réflexion critique sur la genèse du numérique, les SIC montrent que, malgré l’impact du numérique sur le processus de production des données et d’interprétation, les questions récurrentes posées par les sciences humaines et sociales demeurent centrales pour saisir la complexité info-communicationnelle et dépasser une approche strictement computationnelle. Articuler humanités et numérique comme objet d’étude (approches, terrains, acteurs, champ de la recherche) renvoie à des logiques permettant un travail critique positionnant les SIC comme sciences de l’interprétation.

Cependant, disposent-elles d’un recul suffisant pour analyser les formes de socialisation de l’information bouleversées par le numérique, qui affectent non seulement le savoir-être de l’Homme, mais aussi ses compétences professionnelles et son rapport à la société, aux institutions et au patrimoine ?

Comment les représentations des acteurs et les dispositifs sociotechniques participent-ils à la médiation et à la vulgarisation des savoirs ? Comment l’appropriation et le partage des connaissances (institutions, organisations, usagers…) évoluent-ils sous l’impulsion de l’innovation numérique (objets connectés, blogs d’enseignants, sites pédagogiques en ligne, tutoriels, etc.) ?  De  quelle  manière,  via  la  diffusion  du savoir scientifique par les acteurs-réseaux (B. Latour), les publics font-ils valoir leur compétence permettant d’évaluer la scientificité d’un positionnement ou d’un autre ?

Les dispositifs sémantiques permettent de construire des relations de sens entre des concepts et des contenus à première vue éloignés visant à fournir à l’usager des informations pertinentes, rapides et synthétiques. Dès lors, la conception gagne à s’appuyer sur des méthodologies spécifiques qui demandent de problématiser l’aspect amodal du numérique et d’intégrer l’apport théorique et méthodologique de l’organisation des connaissances. Les contributions attendues cibleront des problématiques théoriques et méthodologiques, issues de réflexions et d’études de terrain.

Les écritures pour le Web et sur le Web relèvent-elles d’une adaptation des catégories traditionnelles d’analyse-production ou exigent-elles de nouveaux descripteurs dans le domaine des genres (spécifiques ou non), des textualités multimodales (associant écrit, image, son) ainsi que de l’articulation entre culture écrite et culture visuelle ? Comment prendre en compte la relation entre littératie et interculturalité dans les pratiques rédactionnelles et les usages de l’écriture en ligne ?

La formation des étudiants et leur insertion professionnelle sont également affectées par la transformation numérique. Aussi est-il nécessaire de s’interroger sur les compétences attendues par l’environnement socio-économique (littératies numériques, soft skills, etc.) et réfléchir collectivement en vue de proposer des activités pédagogiques formelles (contenus, cours) et informelles (stages créatifs, ateliers-projets, fablab…) destinées à former les futurs professionnels et chercheurs en information- communication.

Cet axe se propose de problématiser les cultures du numérique au travers des transformations des médias et des dispositifs d’information et de communication numériques.    Les contributions porteront sur des questions liées aux pratiques info- communicationnelles du numérique dans plusieurs champs : économiques, sociétaux, politiques, La diversification des dispositifs suppose également des recherches focalisées sur la dynamique des pratiques socioculturelles numériques (solidarité, mobilisation, projets collaboratifs, etc.). Quelles représentations de la vie sociale et quels modes d’action se configurent par des dispositifs sociotechniques appropriés par des acteurs qui agissent dans des milieux de connectivité différents ?

Produire une archive de ce type ne se limite pas à une simple opération de sauvegarde de l’information, de création d’une page Web et ou de développement d’une interface d’interrogation. Il s’agit aussi d’assurer la conservation des documents sources, l’adéquation aux besoins informationnels de l’usager (grâce à une méthodologie de conception précise s’appuyant sur des ontologies de domaines, des outils d’indexation et d’annotation sémantique des données) et la création d’interfaces et méthodes d’interrogation pertinentes. Comment les recherches en SIC se positionnent-elles face à ces exigences méthodologiques ?

D’une part les recherches en SIC peuvent s’appuyer sur des outils existants issus d’autres disciplines connexes (linguistique, sociologie, psychologie…). D’autre part, compte tenu de leurs spécificités épistémologiques, les SIC peuvent aussi élaborer de nouveaux instruments plus adéquats de collecte, observation et visualisation de données. Ces outils peuvent ainsi contribuer à soutenir les chercheurs en SIC dans leur démarche interprétative propre, leur offrant une alternative à l’approche quantitative du Big Data. Quels rapports établir entre traitement et représentation des données (data visualisation) et pratiques de construction de sens ? Un accent sera mis sur les nouvelles pratiques collaboratives de recherche produites par le travail conjoint des professionnels et des amateurs/lecteurs.

Dans une visée réflexive, les contributions attendues devront éclairer ces interrogations : quel bilan peut-on dresser de ces méthodes computationnelles en termes de production de données, collecte des traces et interprétation qualitative et quantitative des résultats ? Quelles postures méthodologiques issues des humanités numériques et études digitales s’avèrent-elles les plus pertinentes pour les sciences de l’information et de la communication ?